Print Page  |  Your Cart  |  Report Abuse  |  Sign In  |  Register
Authors at the 2012 Spring Conference
Share |

MASL has confirmed several authors for the 2012 Spring Conference.

Peg Kehret

Peg Kehret published her first title for kids in 1985 and received her first literary award in 1986.  More than 2 decades later, Kehret has authored over 50 titles.  Several have won numerous awards, including several state Young Reader awards, the PEN Center Award in Children's Literature, and the Golden Kite Award from the Society of Children’s Book Writers & Illustrators.  Kehret's book Stolen Children received the 2010-2011 MASL Mark Twain Readers Award, a title which she says took her thirty-five years to write.

Kirby Larson

Kirby Larson’s collaboration with Mary Nethery has produced two titles nominated for MASL’s Show Me Readers Award. The first, Two Bobbies, A True Story of Hurricane Katrina, Friendship and Survival, received more than 21,000 votes from Missouri students to win MASL’s 2010-2011 Show Me Readers Award. The second, Nubs: the True Story of a Mutt, a Marine, & a Miracle, is currently a finalist for MASL’s 2011-2012 Show Me Readers Award. In addition to her Show Me Readers Award, Larson has won numerous others, including a Newbery Honor.

Stacy DeKeyser

Despite being "the girl who was always good in math and science,” and getting both a BA in Psychology and a Master’s in Health Services Administration, Stacy DeKeyser has always harbored a passion for reading and writing. A young adult author, her novel Jump the Cracks was voted MASL’s 2010-2011 Truman Readers Award Third Place Winner by more than 400 Missouri students, and received the 2009 Connecticut Press Club award for Best YA Novel. In addition to writing for young adults, DeKeyser also serves as a manuscript evaluator for other children’s and young adult writers.

Lisa McMann

Lisa McMann’s title WAKE received enough votes from Missouri high school students to become the 2010-2011 Gateway Reader’s Award Third Place Winner. The first title in her WAKE Trilogy, it has won numerous awards and will also be made into a film. In addition to publishing several titles for young adults, McMann has also published several short stories for adults, including the creative nonfiction essay When You’re Ten and the award-winning The Day of the Shoes.

All authors will be participating in autographing sessions and will conduct conference workshops. Don’t miss out on seeing these great novelists--register for the 2012 MASL Spring Conference today!

Community Search
Sign In


MASL Summer Workshop (Springfield)

MASL Summer Workshop (Kansas City)

MASL Summer Workshop (St. Louis)

MASL Summer Workshop (Columbia)

MASL RA Committee Meetings

Latest News
Featured Members